Tags

, ,

But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law.

  • Galatians 5:22-23 (NIV)

 

Following on from my crocodile post, I thought I would give my personal favourite essential oils for each fruit of the spirit. I don’t know anyone who can honestly say they have mastered each fruit, myself least of all. Regardless, I figured I could start off with the easier ones for me. It turns out, I am not as fruitful as I thought I was. This is particularly true for the past week, during my search for the perfect shower crème and shampoo recipes.

 

All testing of products is conducted on myself first, and so my erroneous trials have put my peace, joy, gentleness, forbearance, and self-control to the test; resulting in further spiritual errors on my part. I did not throw the bottle of body wash against the wall though, so perhaps there is still hope for my self-control. I am not one to waste ingredients, even flops. I will eat that burnt cookie, drink the improperly set fridge tart, and try my best to wash myself with the contents of bottles that neither lather nor clean. That doesn’t mean I have to be cheerful about it… ummm. Anyway, moving on…

 

I thought I might be able to turn to love, my one fruit that I feel like I am pretty secure in. Upon further reflection, I realised that love is easy to show to those you love (obviously). But to others, the ones you don’t really know and don’t particularly want to know, it is not quite so easy. Particularly when you are growing steadily more frustrated with inanimate objects and cosmetic chemistry. Other interpretations of this verse use the word charity in place of love, and I have not been particularly charitable. I have felt horrid about it, but have still battled with this particular fruit. So perhaps not the best one to start with.

 

Every time I read this list I tend to glance over the word FAITHFULNESS. It seems so vague. Yet, what it means is unwavering, unaltered devotion. Considering my personal battlefield of late, faithfulness was at times the only fruit I had. I had the perfect example to follow because God has been faithful to me; and His faithfulness was an ever-present lifeline that I could hold onto, even when I had wandered. His grace has saved me and taught me the true meaning and value of faithfulness. It is so much deeper than the worldly interpretation of faithfulness.

 

When I think of faithfulness in the context of aromatherapy, my mind instantly goes to Lavender. I have never stopped using Lavender. I have used it for years and I use it in almost everything. Lavender has never let me down – erasing burns like they never happened, stopping itching or stinging from insect bites (or stings), easing headaches, etc. Lavender essential oil may not be derived from a fruit, but it is most certainly my old faithful.

